classics #4

I won’t pretend to know anything about the British rock group The Smiths, because I don’t. Except that Morrissey was their lead singer…I do know that. So it stands to reason that I was unaware of their 1986 hit “There Is A Light That Never Goes Out“, which is probably a crime punishable by death within certain indie cliques.

That is of course until I heard a cover of their song made by two German electronic musicians,  Schneider TM and KPT Michi Gan. Naturally upon hearing the cover, I then looked up the original and man, I couldn’t believe how dissimilar they were. Wheras the original was a wistful new wave anthem, the cover was a total transformation into bleepy, digital melancholy.

So for the past six years, both tracks have lived (un)happily in my iTunes. But which one do I always go for? The cover version, hands down, everytime. Oh dear…can you hear that? Somewhere out there, some poor Smiths fan is sobbing bitterly. Sorry pal.

Schneider TM vs KPT Michi Gan – The Light 3000

2 Responses to “classics #4”


  1. 1 Herbert Hogglebot September 3, 2010 at 4:37 AM

    hehehe, your writing always makes me giggle. good shizzle cook man

  2. 2 fras September 6, 2010 at 10:29 AM

    Apology accepted.


Leave a Reply

